Medina is RDC-1’s new Chairperson


After six years of having no RDC Chairperson for Region 1, finally the Office of the President, with Pres. Rodrigo Duterte appointed Mayor Juan Carlos Sison Medina of Vigan, Ilocos Sur as the RDC-1 Chairperson. Mayor Medina was among the nominees for the position submitted to the office of the President during the RDC Reorganization last December 2016.

The appointment of an RDC Chairperson is highly significant because aside from his administrative functions sitting in the meetings of the council, he will be there to provide direction in all activities of the council. Essentially, he will supervise the monitoring of the implementation of major inter-provincial and regionwide development programs, projects and activities, and direct the formulation of a comprehensive regional development plan and investment programming priorities for the region.

Moreover, he will represent the region in Cabinet meetings  and other activities at the national level and perform other functions and duties as may be directed by the President.

He shall serve for a term of three(3) years which shall coincide with the regular term as local elective official. The last RDC Chairperson also came from Ilocos Sur in the person of then Governor Deogracias “DV” B. Savellano who served in 2008-2010.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 1 = 1